An untimely, or very ahead-of-its-time post: Hot chocolate spoons for foodie friends

19 Jul

Oh my gosh, I found this in my drafts folder. Written last December. Sigh…can you tell how neglected my blog has been? I’m posting it anyway, just to show myself that my blog has an update, no matter if it refers to a time when the snow was frozen, while we experience hot, sponge-like weather here. I’m not even going to spell-check it, lest I continue not to post anything because I’m fretting over letter misplacement. (It’s a dark sin, so don’t tell my fellow editors.) Is it still the thought that counts?

Via Quick post today; Stumble Upon has brought me this gem from these European chocolate makers, Chocolate Company, which would be a great gift idea–I mean, when Christmas, or anything else, comes along. A gift for a foodie, or from a foodie. But doesn't this look like something you could make at home, given a few molds? Find some high-quality chocolate, some fun mix-ins (doesn't the strawberry and pink peppercorn sound interesting?), and a few sturdy wooden spoons. You could go all Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory and cover it with toppings–nuts, pieces of solid chocolate, colored candies, etc. I can think of all sorts of applications for this: white chocolate (okay, I know, it's not really chocolate, but "white candy that's not chocolate but melts and people call it white chocolate" is kind of long) with pink or blue candies for a baby shower, dark chocolate with red-hot cinnamon candies to give to your love for Valentine's Day, milk chocolate with blanched almonds and almond extract for Easter, a few for host gifts…and so it goes. (Easter here does not equal spring; it equals snow, appropriate for hot chocolate.)Voila! Christmas gift for the neighbors. And is there anything better than a homemade gift? I submit that there is not! You might, of course, need to test these out before you give them away. Ahem.


The Pink Peppercorn one looks interesting to me today, but that could also be the strawberry buttercream frosting that I just ate doing the talking. Via Green Wedding Shoes.

8 Responses to “An untimely, or very ahead-of-its-time post: Hot chocolate spoons for foodie friends”

  1. doityourselfmama August 5, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    Yum, these look great! I’ve seen them in a slimmer version, the spoon dipped into the chocolate a few times to build up a nice thick coat, then rolled in crushed peppermint or other goodies. Thanks for stopping by the blog, and SO glad you found Rae’s work- she’s a genius AND a nice girl, great combo :) Yes, the prop 8 stuff won’t die…and I live in such a liberal state. Well, I take that back- most of the state is rural and conservative, but the urban parts (the West half- Olympia straight through Everett) is ultra-liberal. I’ll see you around!

    -Myrnie

    • esprout February 11, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

      Myrnie, great idea to roll them in crushed peppermint candies…what a pretty presentation that would make!

    • esprout July 26, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

      Myrnie, I can’t see how multiple coats of chocolate would be anything but a good thing!

  2. Beckie August 13, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    Yumm……these look really good Erin! I think I might try making them sometime and see how it goes, thanks for sharing!

    • esprout July 26, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

      I think they’d be a very classy gift to accompany homemade hot chocolate, too.

  3. Lula February 26, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Oh my gosh that looks delish and cute at the same time!

    • esprout April 3, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      I think it’s on my list for next Valentine’s Day.

    • esprout July 26, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

      So simple, Lula!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

