Chocolate Silk: hopelessly devoted to you

28 May

Silk brand chocolate soy milk

By and large, I am not one for binge eating or late-night junk food fests over a breakup (or breakout, which sometimes go together). However, chocolate Silk and I, we have become fairly good friends. It has gotten me through many rough times. Even tonight I pulled into Cub Foods and picked up a half-gallon; even at MM’s suggestion. Unlike the MM, I don’t have a dietary need to choose soy milk, nor do I wholly go the organic route–wow, I don’t have that kind of money. But the magic of chocolate Silk–this particular combination of brand and flavor, in particular–just jives with me.

Nutritional benefits

In addition to its seratonin-feeling effects, like most soy products, it has fantastic nutritional benefits. There are conjectures (read me: I did not say hard-and-fast facts–not even a registered dietician would say that) that it can help with things from preventing cancer to lowering cholesterol to uses in hormone replacement therapy and increasing bone density. And that makes me feel good, but I’d probably like it if those benefits weren’t there. I just wouldn’t drink it as much.

I only wish I got paid to tell you this

I would love to tell you that I get paid $.01 for every recommendation I give for chocolate Silk. But dear White Wave apparently hasn’t discovered what a great spokesperson I am, or surely MM and I would be retired by now and probably have a cabin “up north,” wherever that is, like most hearty Minnesotans. Despite this, I do give my endorsement here, and not just for moody women, either. Attention, men: you can drink soy milk and still be manly. Your girlfriend will not be put off, and your wife will think you’re great. Even though you still won’t watch “Becoming Jane” with her.

Tribute to the bean

As for me, I simply think it is smooth and so good cold. Which is why I have written a poem to honor this end-product of the very humble soya bean.

I do not like plain silk
I do not like it instead of milk
Not on a boat
Not in a moat
I do not like plain silk in a glass
I would rather have a bowl of grass
But chocolate, boy, it brings me joy
I pledge devotion to chocolate silk

My last gift: pointing you a location where you can get a whopping $2.50 off a half-gallon of soy milk. You and I both know how much the cost of milk has gone up, so this is especially magical.

4 Responses to “Chocolate Silk: hopelessly devoted to you”

  1. Lily May 29, 2008 at 11:31 am #

    Thanks for the hearty recommendation on the joys of smooth pure chocolate (soy milk) in any form. Enjoyed!

  2. Silk November 5, 2008 at 6:05 pm #

    Hi! I work for Silk and came across your blog posting. Love your poem! Would you mind sending me an email so I can ask you a few questions?

    Thanks for your support!

    Toby at Silk

  3. Teena in Toronto November 20, 2008 at 8:38 pm #

    The chocolate is yummy, isn’t it?! I don’t mind the plain either.

  4. Sophia von Wrangell May 29, 2009 at 1:14 pm #

    What Silk customers do not know, and what I found after 10 years of drinking this product is that, without informing ANYONE, (not their customers, nor the retailers) they degraded the product from organic to natural. The price and the look of the box have stayed the same. Once you trust a product you stop reading the labels on the box. I called them and they could not care less. They made it my responsibility saying they have posted in their website. I consider they have been poisoning me since January and I am very upset. I think people need to know this.

Leave a Reply

