It’s a weird trip to the candy shop

25 Jun

This is just a quick preview of what I’ll be posting a little later about a “tour” (read: walked around the store) at a local candy shop. I’ll be writing more about my experience yesterday, but I couldn’t resist posting one picture for you all to stand in awe at. You know that show with Andrew Zimmerman, where he travels the world over to search for and ingest the nastiest things, things you wouldn’t even have nightmares about? You know how you always think “wow, they eat so weird there”? Right. Well, turns out you don’t have to go far to find the strange.

To answer your questions: yes, they’re real. Yes, people do buy them. And yes, they sell well. Really well; enough so that this is the item they order most often. Apparently some woman who I’m just hoping was raised on bugs buys an entire box full. She actually buys the insects sans-lollipop to put on her salad, claiming that they “taste just like sunflower seeds.” Lady, stick to sunflower seeds. On the other hand, I suppose she’s helping keep some insect grower in business, so good for her. As for me, if I want to taste a sunflower seed, I’ll probably eat a sunflower seed.

These come in a range of insects, so no worries if your favorite isn’t seen; I’m sure they’ve got it. Just gotta beat the insect salad customer.

6 Responses to “It’s a weird trip to the candy shop”

  1. lo (Burp! Where Food Happens) June 26, 2008 at 12:35 pm #

    Well — that’s fascinating.
    NOt exactly up MY alley πŸ™‚ But, I’m not one to judge.

    They certainly do come in lovely colors!

  2. esprout June 27, 2008 at 9:02 am #

    Burp–

    Yes, strange to me, too–that’s why I thought it was such a laugh that they could hardly keep the things in stock, and that someone came in and bought boxes of the stuff.

    Thanks for visiting! Come again.

  3. Daryl November 18, 2008 at 2:00 pm #

    I bought one for my boyfriend’s birthday!

  4. stephanie m May 18, 2009 at 7:36 am #

    I’m having fun teasing all the kids at school with these pictures!

  5. Raqia October 20, 2009 at 1:46 pm #

    πŸ˜€ I Got Some Candy Like That Before I Gave It Out To My 2nd Grade Class. Im Only 12 And Can See That I made A BAD Choice. That Stuff Was Good At The Age Of Like What.. 7 Now.. ughh I Would NEVER EVER Eat That Again

    • esprout February 11, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

      Raqia, amazing the things we liked when we were younger that we don’t know! The wisdom of age, I guess. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

